RIP Steve Jobs

In light of recent events, I’ve decided to dedicate today’s post to the passing of the greatest innovator of our time. When I found out that Steve Jobs past away today, I got inexplicably emotional. I’ve never met the man, but as I started to read about his life and all his patents on the NYT and HuffPost iPhone app, I began to realize how much of my life today is touched by his brilliance and thus explained why I emoted the way I did.  Before I knew it, Steve’s 2005 Stanford Commencement speech started to play on repeat through the speakers of my MacBook Pro as I took a break from recording a new song I had been working on in Garageband. Thirty minutes later and a quick swipe to the upper left-hand corner of my trackpad, I found myself multi-tasking to the next thing on my ever growing LD To-Do list: To finalize a thumbnail that is to accompany the 3 new songs that we plan on releasing on iTunes in the next month or so (date still to be determined).  It is truly remarkable how many sentences just written can be attributed to Steve Jobs.  I remember the elementary school days of book reports and dioramas when I used to read about Thomas Edison and his light bulb; Johannes Gutenberg and the printing press; and Alexander Graham Bell and his telephone. One day, a picture of Steve Jobs will hover as a moving holographic image over our children’s iPad 11GX history “book” as they work on their 5D diorama documenting the Dark Ages of the 20th century and what life was like before the creation of the iPhone.

Thank you, Steve… for giving us light. No seriously, the flashlight app on the iPhone 4 is ridiculous.

Thank you for helping us musicians find the venues in some of the more unique towns across America.

Thank you for helping decide what restaurant to eat at that only have one $.

Thank you for always reminding us what the name of that song was.

Thank you for endless hours of Chess with Friends on long drives.

Thank you for a virus free computer.

Thank you for making my thumbs so much more coordinated and agile.

Thank you for allowing me to type this in the dark with my back-lit keyboard.

Thank you for creating an urge in me to always karate chop at fruit whenever I see it, no matter how big or small.

Thank you for telling me how to play a Gmaj7 on the baritone ukelele.

Thank you for freeing me up from the digital camera, flip vid, and sometimes, my wallet.

Thank you for letting me pretend I’m an awesome hipster photographer.

Thank you for allowing me to facetime with my grandmother in Taiwan and ask her how she’s feeling after the radiation treatments.

Thank you, Steve Jobs.

May You Rest in Peace.

Dan of lady danville

Sent from your iPhone.

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “RIP Steve Jobs

  1. Caitlin says:

    perfect.

  2. Sierra says:

    Caitlin said it splendidly. Thank you for this post.

  3. Katie says:

    Wonderfully said, Dan. ❤

  4. haerie says:

    great post dan, and best wishes to your grandma. ill keep her in my prayers.

  5. Beautiful… the world lost an amazing man. But he will live on in history

  6. Could not have said it any better!! Thanks Dan.

Leave a Reply

