In search of a good music video

What makes a good music video? What makes you watch one and then immediately share it to your (thousands of) friends all over the interweb with an “omg check this out!!”? I’m intrigued by how bands decide on the appropriate 4 minute visual companion to their 4 minute audio creation. For me there is no rule regarding what makes something good. I just have to like it…. a creative story. an interesting filming technique. captivating visuals. all of the above. none of the above. something different.

As you may or may not know, lady danville does not have any official music videos out yet. We’ve been scouring youtube and blogs, listening to music with our eyes closed, reading short stories and novels, going on long drives across America… all in search of some inspiration for our debut 4 minute film.
Here are a couple good videos I’ve come across thus far. Comment on this and let us know some of your favorites. All (potential) inspirational material welcome.

 

 

 

 

-Michael

13 thoughts on “In search of a good music video

  1. hillaryplocheck says:


    LOVE Christian’s voice!

    Max, is amazingly creative with connecting his music to scenes.
    If you guys had a music video to either Cars, Bed 42, or I want you back, I’m sure those would make my list!

  2. Miranda S. says:

    I love anything by OK Go, especially the video for “A Million Ways to be Cruel” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M1_CLW-NNwc

    I also think the video to Adele’s “Chasing Pavements” is beautiful: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=08DjMT-qR9g

    The common theme is these two videos is dancing! Maybe it’s because I grew up watching Fred and Ginger movies, but I think that dancing is an awesome form of expression. I vote for a dance-oriented music video.

  3. first of all, I LOVE the one from The Naked and Famous that you posted! One of my favorite videos of all time is UNDER CONTROL by Parachute. It’s quirky and fun and conveys a universal message of our need for love no matter who (or what) we are 😉 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2HiRnS4k2Vw

    I’m also a big fan of their music vid for YOU AND ME. Their bass player does a badass bike trick! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CQzFZPEs020&feature=channel_video_title

  4. Cole McCarty says:

    I love the Roll Away Your Stone music video, as well as the Coldplay Every Tear Drop is a Waterfall. Both are great, Mostly the change in Audio from Mumford and Sons transition

  5. Young the Giant’s music video for “My Body” is one of my all time favorite music videos. So good.

  6. Kim says:

    I love this video:

  7. azesu says:

    These guys are from the Bay Area. Not a life changing video, but I think you two would do great on a bill together.

Leave a Reply

