Bon Iver: Blood Bank

I saw Bon Iver in concert last night! The band is currently touring their most recent album, self-titled “Bon Iver.”

I was pretty anxious walking in to the theater for the show. I knew something crazy was gonna happen…

I fell in love.

It sounds weird, but Bon Iver made me fall in love again. It was one song in particular that I was like “shit, what the *(#*$ was that?” It was if something had hit me across the face and woke me up. As if a little butterfly was rummaging around in my stomach. It was one song. One song made me feel that way! I was completely lost in the moment, and at the end of the song, realized I was holding my breath, and felt the feelings and emotions that I associate with love. Ooh lala!

I’m not gonna speculate on the meaning of the song, but instead, post it below with the lyrics, and let you interpret it for yourself. I would listen a couple times through without reading the lyrics, to get the vibe of the song, and then read the lyrics. Feel free to comment with what this song means to you or how it makes you feel. Does it remind you of someone or something? Maybe it just reminds you of an object or a color (red? ha), or makes you feel a certain way. The song has no clear meaning, and maybe the lyrics will confuse you and instruments and melodies will spark something inside you. I think the best songs are written with intention and specificity, but leave the door of interpretation wide freakin open. I’m curious to know what you think…here it is:

Well I met you at the blood bank
We were looking at the bags
Wondering if any of the colors
Matched any of the names we knew on the tags

You said see look it that's yours
Stacked on top with your brothers
See how they resemble one anothers?
Even in their plastic little covers

And I said I know it well

That secret that you know
That you don't know how to tell
it f--ks with your honor
And it teases your head
But you know that its good girl
Cause its running you with red.

Then the snow started falling
We were stuck out in your car
You were rubbing both my hands
Chewing on a candy bar
you said ain't this just like the present
To be showing up like this
As the moon waned to crescent
we started to kiss

And I said I know it well

That secret that we know
That we don't know how to tell
I'm in love with your honor
I'm in love with your cheeks
what's that noise up the stairs baby
Is that Christmas morning creaks?

And I know it well (8x)

-matt(i)

“Music tells no truths.” ~Philip James Bailey

Tagged , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Bon Iver: Blood Bank

  1. Anya says:

    I love that moment where they’re in the car, talking and eating while it snows. It just feels so normal and mundane, but the song makes it really beautiful. I guess I think that’s what love is: when these instants with someone are really peaceful and fulfilling without having to try hard to make something special happen.

    That moment where you really feel inside of you what a band is playing, whether the song is live or recorded? That’s another moment that I love, knowing that someone has said what you’ve been thinking/feeling/wondering about, but haven’t expressed. And when people love the things I love (Blood Bank), so thanks for that. 🙂

  2. To me, the first stanza demonstrates that she knows him so well. The way she recognizes his blood and the resemblances it shares with that of his brother’s show how close they are.

  3. Lindsey says:

    I love this song. My now husband, back then boyfriend, put this song on a “love” cd he made for me. We both agree it is by far one of the greatest songs ever. We played it at our wedding reception as well. Oh and we saw you guys when you came to OKC a while back…definately dowloaded your music and love it. Heard my husband singing “Cars” the other day. Keep up the good work!

    • ladydanville says:

      To me, there’s nothing greater in the world than the image of a grown man singing the “you” section of “Cars” at the top of his lungs 🙂 Thanks for your post Lindsey! Chat soon. -matt

  4. ladydanville says:

    Thanks for your comments! Anya and Isaac, definitely agree. Chat soon guys. -matt

  5. Julie says:

    words cant even express the effect this song has on me. and its amazing that it makes EVERYONE feel the same way. I listen to it when I am really lost and need to take a step back and breath. And it reminds me of my best friend 🙂
    –julie

Leave a Reply

