Beardless, and (almost) hairless Matt

So back in my acting days, I joined a union called SAG (the Screen Actors Guild). I really didn’t think much of it when I joined. Funny enough, my ticket in to the guild was beat boxing for an Oreo commercial (it always comes back to percussion! what what?). Shortly after, I was cast in a commercial that promoted the The Sopranos DVD:

Did my UCLA acting education do me good? Eh, who knows. Afterall, anybody can crunch their cereal loudly. I think I have my grade school band teacher, Mr. Chun, to thank more than any college professor for introducing me to music. Thanks Mr. Chun! 🙂

What brought upon all of this thinking about being an actor, and now musician (or just an ‘artist’ I suppose) is I just watched the movie Somewhere (the Screen Actors Guild sent me 30 movies in the mail this year! FO FREE!). I gotta say, it took me about an hour and a half to get in to Somewhere. Let’s just say my review wouldn’t be 5 stars. But the end message of the movie was very clear and really hit home with me. You can be an artist, in the spotlight, with all of the glamorous luxuries of the world, and really still feel alone. And sometimes, the best solution to unhappiness is to look it in the eye and say “eff you biatch” I’m leaving. Don’t get me wrong. I don’t feel famous, I’m not unhappy, nor do I have any glamourous luxuries of fame (yet! muahahahah). I still connected with the movie and main character though. I definitely know what it’s like to meet a lot of people and not get to know them. It’s so weird going from city to city and only getting to chat with someone for a minute after a show, and feel a connection with someone and not get to really know them. I guess that’s what this blog, and facebook and all this social media shtuff is for. We can at least all keep in touch when we travel from city to city. So, hey, don’t be a stranga!

Some of you may know that the 2011 Oscar Nominees were just announced. Here are a few of my top Oscar picks:

The King’s Speech is probably gonna sweep a lot of the categories, including Colin Firth for best actor (no surprise).  If you haven’t seen it, go see it now…stop reading, go. Personally, I’d like to see The Social Network win Best Picture. The performances were great and it was super entertaining. It was controversial and about Facebook for crying out loud! What could be more topical?

Best Picture: The Social Network

Best Actress: Natalie Portman – The Swan

Best Actor: Colin Firth – The King’s Speech

Best Supporting Actress: Amy Adams – The Fighter

Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale – The Fighter

Best Director: Tom Hooper – The King’s Speech

Best Animated Feature Film: Toy Story 3 (my friend did the voice of Andy so I’m biased)

Best Music (original score) – Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross – The Social Network

Best Music (original song) – “If I Rise” from 127 Hours by A.R. Rahman Lyrics by Dido and Rollo Armstrong (wouldn’t be upset to see Randy Newman win another)

Can’t wait for the next blog! Maybe I’ll share another vid from the good ‘ole acting days 🙂

-matt(i)

7 thoughts on “Beardless, and (almost) hairless Matt

  1. :) says:

    I like this a lot.

  2. Jillian Levi says:

    Totally agree that Social Network should win best picture!

  3. Brittany says:

    this is brilliant! i’m sure Carmine would approve.

  4. Katie says:

    I saw you in San Diego and am your newest fan! I’m bummed I can’t watch the video – it says it’s private?

  5. ladydanville says:

    sorry, just made it viewable so you can watch it!

  6. ashley h. says:

    Just so you guys know.. you rocked the slc happenings. You three are one of the best bands to come through in a while.. Thank you!

  7. Tess says:

    I completely understand! As someone just getting into the industry, 95% of the people that I meet on a regular basis are people like you guys, touring across the country, who I may or may not ever see again. It’s pretty daunting, but keeping the hope of seeing everyone at some point or other is an exciting prospect.

Leave a Reply

