Harry Potter 7 Movie Review by lady danville – Spoiler Alert

Warning: You’re about to read thoughts and opinion about the 7th Harry Potter Movie. If you don’t want anything ruined, don’t read this until after you’ve seen the movie.

Warning #2: You’re about to experience some serious Harry Potter nerd alert going on… read at your own risk. If this at all jeopardizes you as a fan for lady danville, I’d stay away from this post as well.

Friday, November 19th, 2010.- by Dan

I got to sneak away this morning from the craziness of touring to catch the first morning showing of Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 1. Last night, instead of attending to the usual tradition of dressing up (last year’s get up resembled the stunning spell “stupefy” by wearing all red) and watching the midnight showing, I was playing the 10th show of our Ben Folds Lonely Avenue Tour in Montclair, NJ. And while the show turned out great, I couldn’t help but wonder how true to the book HP7 the movie was going to be as I plucked away on the guitar during our opening number, “Spoon.” So instead of sleeping in this morning to prepare for our long drive from NYC to Charlotte, I decided to wake up at 8am and fly solo to the 10:30am showing of HP7 in Brooklyn. It turned out to be a great decision. And the right one. I was tearing up within the opening minutes of the movie. Crazy I know. But this is now the start of the end.

So  instead of writing out a real review, I’ve decided to list my top ten favorite moments about the movie. Again, if you haven’t read the seventh book yet and/or seen the movie, I advise that you stop reading. I ain’t holding back. =)

Top Ten Most Favorite Moments

1. Opening scene. I must admit, the combination of the musical score and the dialogue-less montage of Harry, Ron and Hermione in their respective homes really moved me. Especially Hermione’s scene. Her parents are so foreign and distant to readers in the book but the movie does a good job of capturing that sense of sadness Hermione feels erasing herself from her parents’ minds.

2. Charity Burbage. I remember how scary the opening scene at Malfoy Manor seemed when I first read the 7th book. And a large part of that had to do with the murder of Charity Burbage, Professor of Muggle Studies. Anyway, I thought whoever played this character was brilliant. Her lines, however short, were delivered perfectly.  I still get the shivers thinking about the way she desperately whispers, “Severus…”

3. Decoy Potters. This scene was very entertaining. The best part was hearing Fleur tell Bill not to look at her because she thought she looked hideous as Harry. Awesome. Oh, and Bill Weasley. Great casting. I never really understood what a good looking Weasley boy meant, but there you have it.

4. Hedwig. I’m a little torn about how Hedwig is killed off. But in the end, while straying from the book, I like that Hedwig dies trying to save Harry. Ugh, my heart breaks just typing that.

5. The casting. I was pleasantly surprised with every new character introduced and the actor playing them.  Bill Nighy as Rufus Scrimgeour. AMAZING. I wish they would’ve showed the scene from the book where him and Harry go at it with each other. That would have been awesome. Mundungus Fletcher. Another great casting. His voice alone was perfect. He just looked like a con man. Bathilda Bagshot. Spooky ass bat witch slash killer snake. What a freaky scene. So good.

6. Splinching. Wow. The movie definitely shows you how painful that can be. Where’s my Essence of Dittany.

7. Breaking into the Ministry. This scene was highly entertaining as we saw Harry, Ron and Hermione all disguised as three public servants of the Ministry. These actors did a great job because you could still feel the presence of the trio behind those disguises. Reg Cattermole was especially hilarious.  Rupert Grint really does a good job with the delivery of his lines. A personal favorite was when he freaks out about his “family”and then remembers that it’s not his family.

8. Nagini and Bathilda. This was an awesomely intense scene. I may have missed some of it though because there was this little kid sitting next to me that was screaming the entire time. I had to look over to make sure there wasn’t a snake in the actual theater. Apparently he’s deathly afraid of snakes. But his mom wouldn’t take him out of the theater because I think she really wanted to keep watching. Even after the scene was over, the kid would every once in awhile ask, “is the snake gone for good?” Horrible. But yeah, I liked this scene because you could practically smell the putrid scent of death on the face of Bathilda Bagshot.

9. Destroying the Horcrux scene. This was probably the most anticipated scene for me. I remember when they first started filming HP7 and there was so much buzz about the long-awaited kiss between Ron and Hermione. And at that time, I remember thinking to myself, well, what about Harry and Hermione? Because they technically kiss first in the scene where Ron has to destroy the Horcrux. Anyway, David Yates definitely does a good job capturing that which tears up Ron inside.

10. DOBBY! What a shining light in this movie. He had great comedic lines and was just such a breath of fresh air every time he entered the scene. The ending could have been stronger in my opinion, but it definitely still left me teary eyed. Here lies Dobby, a Free Elf. We’ll miss you buddy.

Some disappointments. The movie can’t get everything right. And I don’t expect it to. Like deciding against using disguises for Harry at the wedding, or for both Harry and Hermione at Godric’s Hollow. Or for adding a random dance scene in the movie between Harry and Hermione. And movies will never be able to capture the internal monologues that occur as well as the book does. But I am a bit disappointed with some of the more emotionally intense scenes. Like when Ron walks out on Harry and Hermione. I expected more yelling and pleading from Hermione in the beginning. Or the torture scene between Bellatrix and Hermione. I expected more maddening insanity from Ron as we hear Hermione scream (which I thought was brilliantly done). And lastly, the death of Dobby.  Yes, I may still have teared up… but I was looking for an even bigger emotion. This is the turning point for Harry. This is where he decides Horcuxes, not Hallows. But this is where the internal monologue of the book gets lost translated onto the screen.

Oh well. I still loved this movie. And I will probably watch it again. Ok, enough nerding out for tonight.

Mischief Managed,

Dan

P.S. What about you? Any favorite moments? Did you leave disappointed about anything at all? Share with us your thoughts!  =)

14 thoughts on “Harry Potter 7 Movie Review by lady danville – Spoiler Alert

  1. Emily B says:

    I just got out of the movie theater. I didn’t go to the midnight showing because I saw you guys and ben and if I had gone straight to harry potter, my brain would have probably exploded from ecstatic emotions.
    first I’d like to say that finding out you are harry potter fan(s?) makes me like you guys even more than when i fell in love with your music last night. but that’s besides the point.
    I 100% agree with everything you said, but I’d like to add that I think the way they did the tale of the three brothers was awesome, even if it was a tad out of place in the movie. and the random dancing scene was quite awkward. I really loved when scrimgeour was reading dumbledore’s will and you could see hermione’s anxiousness when harry touched the snitch. the directors and emma did well with making that happen. gotta love attention to detail. I wasn’t happy with the lack of polyjuice potion that happened towards the end in those two instances.
    but all in all I was very impressed with the movie.
    aaaaaand I’ll probably see it a few more times because I really am a nerd for it.

    I solemnly swear that I am up to no good. 😉
    -Em

    • ladydanville says:

      oh my gosh. i can’t believe i left out the tale of the three brothers. that was on my list but somehow got skipped over… i LOVED that scene. so uncharacteristic of harry potter movies but so beautifully done. thanks for reminding me.

  2. Steph says:

    A lot. A lot of favorites.

    And really, the only disappointment here was the same: Ron’s lack of reaction to Hermione…you know…screaming!

    But HP7.1 was so.very.fantastic. Going to have to chew on this for a little while!

  3. Jennifer Waters says:

    Dan, thanks for the review. You have me so pumped to see this movie! I, too, am a HP nerd!

  4. Lee Gustin says:

    Thanks for review/highlights Dan. I’m excited to see it (tomorrow night). It sounds like they are getting better and better at getting the movies *somewhat* close to the books. 3&4 were horribly done, but 5&6 were betterish, so I’m glad they are improving 🙂

  5. YAY hp nerding!!!! i liked it when the polyjuiced fleur was cuddling up against bill on the thestral.

  6. Katie says:

    This makes me love you guys even more! I saw the movie last night and I fully agree with all of your favorite moments. I was cracking up during the Seven Harrys scene at the beginning, as well as when the trio were in the Ministry because the adult actors just had the trio’s essence down to a T. Also, I loved how the Tale of the Three Brothers was done.

    I didn’t like the dance scene after Ron left. I don’t think I will ever like Harry+Ginny scenes just because Bonnie Wright is not the Ginny I imagined while reading the books. Hopefully she’ll prove me wrong in Part 2 though.

    I honestly can’t think of much else I didn’t like from the movie. I have high hopes for Part 2 though, especially with Dumbledore’s and Snape’s stories. I feel like all the previous movies have just skimmed over Snape, but they CANNOT do that for Part 2. Ahhh I can’t wait. Definitely tryin’a have a HP movie marathon right when it comes out.

    Also, yes- Bill Weasley is SUCH a stud. ;D

  7. Caitlin says:

    I love how into this you are haha. I thought they did a pretty good job with the movie even though they left some things out. I agree about the Tale of Three Brother’s thing, that was really cool.

    I was suprised they showed Mad Eye Moody’s eye on the door of Umbridges office but then it was forgotten about. I thought maybe Harry would have mentioned it at some point.

    And I also agree that the ending could have been stronger. I think everyone knew it was going to be a cliff hanger but I thought they could have done a little more to wrap it up.

    ps-I like that you were thinking about HP during spoon, because I was listening to it on my iPod right before the movie started =)

  8. Taryn says:

    I absolutely love that you’re as big of a Harry Potter nerd as I am!

    I’ve seen this movie twice already and the opening scene, Hedwig’s heroic demise as well as Dobby’s selfless sacrifice to save Harry and his friends gets me everytime. I think the movie was beautifully made and I loved every second of it!

    I especially loved how they animated the Tale of the Three Brothers, it kind of reminded of a Tim Burton style movie.

    But yeah, I enjoy that you love Harry Potter, that pretty much makes my day 😀

  9. El says:

    I totally agree about the lack of emotion in certain scenes (Hermione’s torture, Dobby’s death, etc.) but overall all it was a great movie.

    The two things that I was surprised to find missing were 1) the intense inner turmoil of Harry + his feelings about Dumbledore. As Dan pointed out, it’s hard to do inner monologues in movies, but they only really referenced it once (“Are you sure you knew Dumbledore?”)

    2) the lack of information about wand lore, which is crucial for how the story ends.

    … but maybe these things just stood out to me since I was watching it with a non-reader who was thoroughly confused and asking questions the entire time =)

  10. Heather W says:

    I totally agree with your review! I really disliked 6 so much because they strayed so far from the book, and I was very relived to see that the integrity of the story and the characters were intact in the 7th movie, so far. Yeah, there were changes, but not major things. I didn’t like the weird dance scene with Harry and Hermione, but it was still way less cringe-worthy than most of the 6th movie. The acting was incredibly stellar, especially Emma Watson’s. I’m totally going to see it again!

    (btw way, saw you in Chicago and thought the concert was great!)

  11. madonnaearth says:

    Thank you so much for going over that movie in some detail.
    I didn’t get there until just before the scene of the multiple
    Harrys, but I was happier with this version overall than I was the
    Half Blood Prince film and a few others before that. I love what
    they did with the horcrux scene. It was brilliant!!! And I am here
    to tell you that roger ebert got that part badly wrong. He
    apparently thought that part was real life (he hasn’t read the
    books and may never read them). I also loved the dance scene, even
    if it wasn’t in the book. It was nice to see Ron get to do some
    acting. He gets treated like a fifth wheel in most of the movies to
    me. I think of them more as a team of 3, and you don’t get that
    from the movies so much. I wish there’d been time to show how well
    harry started getting along with kreacher. I was so glad about how
    real the house elves looked in this one. I fully expected them to
    have a badly done look about them. If this movie is still up this
    weekend, I’m going to go have another look at it. Can’t wait til
    the DVD comes out and I can see any extras they didn’t include in
    the theater version.

  12. I think Bellatrix carving “MUDBLOOD” into Hermione’s arm was a great addition! It’s so heart-breaking, and the shot where it slowly zooms away from Hermione’s face and focuses on her arm, and then the one little drop of blood that secretes from it… Holy cow. That was such an emotionally intense thing to add.

  13. Alyx says:

    i would have to agree with every single one of your top ten 🙂
    and i have to ask… are you pumped for july fifteenth?

Leave a Reply

